About the programme

The overall objective of the South Baltic Cross-Border Cooperaton Programme is to strengthen the sustainable development of the South Baltic area through joint actions increasing its competitiveness and enhancing integration among people and institutions.
The Programme is characterised by geographically large area encompassing regions from five European Union Members States. The area eligible for the Programme includes the following NUTS III units:

Denmark – Regional Municipality of Bornholm and as adjacent: Zealand sub-region;

Lithuania – Klaipeda County and as adjacent: Taurage and Telsiai Counties;

Germany – sub-regions of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern: Greifswald, Rostock, Stralsund, Wismar, Bad Doberan, Nordvorpommern, Nordwestmecklenburg, Ostvorpommern, Rügen, Uecker-Randow;

Poland – Szczecinski, Koszalinski, Slupski, Gdanski, Gdansk-Gdynia-Sopot sub-regions and as adjacent (according to the “20% rule”): Elblaski sub-region;

Sweden – Kalmar, Blekinge, Skane Counties and as adjacent: Kronoberg County.

The Programme has three priorities:

Priority Axis 1: Economic Competitiveness
Indicative actions within Priority axis 1 are a) entrepreneurial development, b) integration of higher education and labour markets, c) transport accessibility:

Priority Axis 2: Attractiveness and Common Identity
Indicative actions within Priorityaxis 2 are: a) management of the Baltic Sea environment, b) energy saving and renewable energy, c) sustainable use of natural and cultural heritage for regional development, d) local community initiatives.

Priority 3: Technical Assistance
Technical Assistance is essential for providing effective implementation of the Programme, financing the preparatory, management, monitoring, evaluation, information, and control activities of the Operational Programme.


The content of this website is the sole responsibility of the author and can in no way be taken to reflect the views of the European Union, the Managing Authority or the Joint Secretariat of the South Baltic Cross-border Cooperation Programme 2014-2020. The project UMBRELLA is partly financed from the Interreg South Baltic Programme 2014-2020 through the European Regional Development Fund.