EU Strategy for the Danube Region

On Wednesday April 13 , the ministers of the 27 EU Member States formally adopted the EU Strategy for the Danube Region proposed by the European Commission last December and approved by the European Parliament. Covering a fifth of the EU (100 million inhabitants), the Danube Region is key to the well-being of the EU as a whole. 

The strategy concerns mainly 14 countries of which 8 are Member States (Germany, Austria, Hungary, Czech Republic, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Bulgaria and Romania) and 6 are non-EU countries (Croatia, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Ukraine and Moldova). Organisations representing civil society and private companies are also involved in the implementation of actions and projects, and achievement of precise targets.Please, see Press Release and Action Plan.

The content of this website is the sole responsibility of the author and can in no way be taken to reflect the views of the European Union, the Managing Authority or the Joint Secretariat of the South Baltic Cross-border Cooperation Programme 2014-2020. The project UMBRELLA is partly financed from the Interreg South Baltic Programme 2014-2020 through the European Regional Development Fund.