First EGTC to manage Interreg Programme

The European Grouping for Territorial Cooperation (EGTC) Grande Region (Greater Region) was established in April 2010 and is now the first such organisation to become a Managing Authority of an INTERREG Programme, in this case the INTERREG IV A Programme Grande Region. It consists of eleven partners from four EU Member States (Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg). The EGTC has taken over the functions of Managing Authority in accordance with article 60 of the regulation 1083/2006 (ERDF). It was established under French law and has its seat in Metz.

The EGTC is responsible to the European Commission for sound management of the programme. It is also working in collaboration with the other entities of the operational programme: it organises and prepares the meetings of the oversight committee, and implements the decisions relating to the programme and the actions concerning the Greater Region geographical entity. It is supported by the joint technical secretariat based in Luxembourg. The EGTC is financed from the Technical Assistance of the programme which amounts to 212 MEUR with an ERDF contribution of 106 MEUR.

The EGTC Grande Region may also become a part of a broader EGTC network in this area of the EU. Currently, two additional EGTCs are under preparation. One of them is intended to set up the institutional framework for joint policy development in the Grande Region, while the second will be responsible for fostering economic and spatial development in the former industrial area of Belval-Esch.

To find out more about this project, please visit the official website of the Interreg IV A Programme Grande Region.

The content of this website is the sole responsibility of the author and can in no way be taken to reflect the views of the European Union, the Managing Authority or the Joint Secretariat of the South Baltic Cross-border Cooperation Programme 2014-2020. The project UMBRELLA is partly financed from the Interreg South Baltic Programme 2014-2020 through the European Regional Development Fund.