Sikorski and Lavrov to EU on visa-free traffic in Kaliningrad

Polish and Russian Foreign Ministers Radoslaw Sikorski and Sergei Lavrov have sent a letter to the European Union foreign policy chief, Ms Catherine Ashton asking the European Union to apply small border traffic regulations to the Kaliningrad region and to part of Poland’s Warminsko-Mazurskie region.

Negotiations are now in progress between the two countries to facilitate visa-free small border traffic on their joint border. It is expected that a final agreement should be signed by the two ministers within the next two months. It is still unclear, however, whether the whole territory of the Kaliningrad region will be subject to the new visa-free small border traffic regulations.

The content of this website is the sole responsibility of the author and can in no way be taken to reflect the views of the European Union, the Managing Authority or the Joint Secretariat of the South Baltic Cross-border Cooperation Programme 2014-2020. The project UMBRELLA is partly financed from the Interreg South Baltic Programme 2014-2020 through the European Regional Development Fund.